Style Spotted: Leather

Leather is something that keeps making its appearance on the runway and on the streets whenever the weather starts to cool down, yet we never grow tired of seeing it. NYU students seem to relate to this feeling — leather is one of biggest trends around campus at the moment. Hear about why leather is once again making a comeback and other fall/winter fashion tips from our very own NYU students.

Chris Collado ( Steinhardt Freshman)

dsc00464

Why do you think leather is a wardrobe staple?

I think leather is a wardrobe staple because it’s very bold. I think anyone could look good in leather, I think leather is something that has been around for a long time, and wearing leather is saying “I support fashion.”

What stores do you suggest people shop at to buy leather?

The jacket that I’m wearing is actually made of vegan leather. I don’t really know where people buy leather from, and I’m very frugal, so I recommend you try places like H&M and Forever 21. Another option is to look out for sales (Black Friday is fast approaching), which is how I was able to buy these Kenneth Cole boots. It’s looking good on a budget.

Besides leather, what should we look forward to for fall / winter fashion?

I think fur is something we should be looking forward to for the fall and winter, except I support not using actual fur but vegan fur. Also, boots are another thing we should look forward to. Flannels and plaid are made of comfortable material and these will never go out of style — they’re timeless and always put a look together. I think denim, specifically dark denim, is great for these seasons too.

If I’m going to buy one thing tomorrow, what should it be?

I would recommend a leather jacket because a leather jacket in my opinion is very edgy, casual and cool yet it has class to it. A leather jacket makes you look fierce.

Julia Kim (CAS Junior)

DSC00444.jpg

Why do you like the most about wearing leather?

It’s the best jacket for the fall. When you see people wearing it, you know that fall’s here.

Is leather something that you will continue to wear even when this season has passed?

Yes, leather jackets will always be a thing for a long time. Leather will never go out of style.

How do you stay up to date when it comes to fashion?

I look at Instagram and observe what other people are wearing.

Who are your fashion icons?

Jenn Im/Clothesencounters (from YouTube)

Lisa Azcona (Steinhardt Senior)

dsc00449

How do you typically style leather?

I don’t own a lot of things that are leather, but when I do have leather, it’s always black. Leather inspires me to wear boots and stockings. Not to mention, it’s very New York.

When talking about fall/ winter fashion, less or more?

For me, I have to say more. I’m guilty of wearing dresses in the winter, so I try to wear coats, leggings, and other similar pieces to keep me warm during this time of the year. But I love dresses; that’s my thing.

Where do you get your style inspiration from?

I like Olivia Culpo and Kendall Jenner. Their style is very edgy and it’s clear that they are confident with what they wear all the time.

What do you think are the current trends in fashion?

Right now it’s definitely the choker. That are lots of different styles of it — you’ve got the bedazzled choker and so much more. The choker takes me back to the ‘90s since I wore them back when I was a child, and it’s interesting to see how I wear them now.

Brenda Zhang (CAS Sophomore)

dsc00456

What quality draws you to wearing leather?

Personally, I’m drawn to wearing leather because it’s something you can pair with other things easily.

Tell me about your personal style.

My style is simple, so I like to include a statement piece, like a leather jacket. Also, whatever it is I decide to wear has to be comfortable. I’m pretty picky about whether the clothes I wear makes me feel too hot or too cold, so I make use of layering light pieces together.

How would describe the current fashion scene?

If we’re talking about what’s happening in New York, then I would say it’s pretty diverse. Leather is definitely ‘in’ right now and there’s a lot of layering, as well as a preference for darker colors. It’s always changing.

What was the last thing you bought in preparation for colder weather?

The last thing I bought was black leather pants.

Winnie Xu (Liberal Studies Freshman)

dsc00458

Why is leather perfect for the fall / winter seasons?

Leather is perfect for the fall and winter seasons because it keeps you warm.

How would you relate past and present fashion trends like leather?

People have always worn leather. It has never really gone out of style.

What fashion-related websites or social media accounts do you actively follow?

I actively follow Jenn Im/Clotheseconounters.

Which celebrities do you think have the best style?

For me, Jenn Im has the best style.

Sherah Ndjongo is a staff writer. Email her at violetvision@nyunews.com.

Leave a comment