Is Customizable Hair Care Really Possible?

Finding the perfect hair product can take years of searching stores and throwing money at expensive and ineffective product. Even then, one might still settle for a product that works in some ways, but falls short in others. As a blonde, curly-haired woman with color treated and dry hair, finding hair products suited for my hair has been challenging. Recently, I found a Facebook ad for a company called Function of Beauty that claims to sell high quality, paraben and sulfate-free shampoo and conditioner customized for each customer. So, I figured I would give it a go.

How it works:

Screen Shot 2017-04-23 at 3.22.48 PM.png

You start by taking a hair quiz on the website and building your hair profile for your hair type, structure, and scalp moisture. Then, the site asks you to choose up to five “hair goals.” I have dandruff and my ends can feel like hay if I don’t put oil on them throughout the week, so I was looking for something to hydrate and relax my hair. Some of the goals don’t have a clear definition (what does “replenish hair” mean?). However, I picked my goals on what I felt like I lacked the most in my current hair routine. I wanted my shampoo to deep condition, lengthen, hydrate, soothe my scalp, and increase curl definition.

Screen Shot 2017-04-23 at 3.21.52 PM.png

Not only can you customize the “goals” of the shampoo and conditioner, you can also choose the color, scent, name, and size of the products. The website gives you the option of choosing two eight oz bottles, two 16 oz bottles, or an eight oz and 16 oz combo of either shampoo and conditioner. To get the most bang for my buck ($45 plus shipping), I chose the two 16 oz bottles.

When you’re ordering the product, you technically have to also set up a system of repeat orders. You can choose how long in between you want each order to arrive and can cancel the order at any time. Navigating the website is fairly easy and makes it simple to log onto your account and change anything, including payment or hair details.

The Product:

Screen Shot 2017-04-23 at 3.21.59 PM

The package contained the shampoo, condition, two pumps, and a small booklet that reiterates your profile, goals, and suggested usage directions. I love when products come with a lid and a pump because I can travel without worrying that every bump of my suitcase will nudge the pump and shampoo will spew. My bottles came labeled “function of alyssa,” which was a nice personal touch to my customized products.

The product itself works well in the shower. I had a hard time getting the shampoo to create suds during the first use—and the second—but all of the other intended effects of the shampoo appeared after the first use. As I requested, the shampoo did smell like eucalyptus, which made the overall experience pleasant.

The conditioner did takes some time to understand. Every conditioner I’ve used for as long as I can remember has felt thick. However, this conditioner is incredibly lightweight, even considering that one of my hair goals was to “deep condition,” and this lightness kept my hair from feeling weighed down.

The results:

It’s an honest product. The majority of my selected hair goals were achieved. My curls are more defined, my dandruff has improved, and my hair feels conditioned. That being said, my hair has not done some of what I went into this experience seeking. One thing I wanted was defined and relaxed curls, but the combination of the curl definition in the shampoo and the deep conditioning made my hair curl up too much. I eventually started only conditioning my ends which seemed to help.

If I were to reorder this product, I would change my hair goals to better reflect what I want. I would also change my size preference to an 8 oz shampoo, since I used a significantly larger amount of conditioner than shampoo.

Was the product worth the money I spent? For me, yes. The biggest deciding factor was how much less of my other hair products (gel, cream, and serums) I had to use. Before ordering the customized product, I had recently purchased a high-end hair cream that I hoped would finally be able to control my hair. I don’t need it now since the shampoo and conditioner were comparable for a fraction of the price.

If you’re someone who is not looking to spend a lot of money on hair products, or if hair care isn’t a large part of your budget, these products may not be for you. If you’re someone ready to eliminate products from your extensive routine and save big, then “Function of Beauty” may become your new beauty obsession.

Image courtesy of Function of Beauty.

Alyssa Kelly is a contributing writer. Email her at wsnvioletvision@nyunews.com.

Leave a Reply

