Signature Style: Kenny Chen, Gabi Galvin, Devi Kanagaraj, Jonathan Lopez, Natasha Rembach

These days, it can be difficult to find someone with a truly distinct style. Dominant fashion brands such as Zara, Topshop, and H&M replicate high fashion trends and provide trendy clothes at an affordable price. One of the biggest target markets is style-conscious young adults. Most of their shopping occurs at the stores mentioned above, leading to the group looking like soldiers in uniform. And when trends change every season, wardrobes are quick to imitate them. What does it mean to have original style these days? Here are what some students from NYU and other schools have to say about what it means to develop a signature style.

Kenny Chen (School of Professional Studies Senior)

What is your taste in fashion?

I have two sides of my taste in fashion. Part of me is very minimalist: I love neutral colors like grey, white and light blue. And normally I put on one to two colors for the look. The other part of me is more fun, I wear fun print sweatshirt and ripped jeans. Just to spicy it up sometime.

What are your favorite brands?

Thom Browne, Raf Simons, Acene Studios, Our Legacy, and COS. This boutique brand I found called Stoffa Co. is really cool, they do the nicest jackets.

What are some of your staple items?

Sneakers, Light color T-shirts, sweatshirts

Do you have any advice for those who want more than just a typical look of the day?

Do more research, find the styles you like and put your own element into it. Sometimes your hair style can help you change your look too.

Gabi Galvin (CAS Sophomore)

What is your taste in fashion?

I definitely change my style day to day and season to season. Over the winter I was really into the all black, classic New York look. I really love the minimalistic, high fashion looks and trying to emulate things like that. Now that spring is here I’m getting back into incorporating more color in my wardrobe, specifically pastels. I think right now I am more trying to go for a casual 90’s vibe, lots of denim and baggier stuff. I just love mixing my style up though, it’s really hard for me to define.

What are your favorite brands?

My favorite brands are definitely Rag and Bone, Topshop, American Apparel and Brandy Melville. Brandy Melville has been my top go-to recently because they have so many great pastel pinks and blues for pretty cheap in right now.

What are some of your staple items?

I literally wear my black and white Adidas Super Stars and either a black bomber jacket or oversized denim jacket every day. I’m also a big fan of sunglasses, and my favorite pair are gold framed Dior ones that look like modern aviators.

Do you have any advice for those who want more than just a typical look of the day? I think that it’s really important to not define yourself by a specific type of style. I did that for a little while and it just really boxed me in and I realized I missed getting to try new things and having fun putting together creative outfits. The way you dress is about self expression, and as humans we transform from day to day so the clothes we wear should change with us to reflect that growth.

Devi Kanagaraj (Liberal Studies Sophomore)

What is your taste in fashion?

I would say I take a lot of style inspiration from art. I love Victorian and medieval-inspired pieces with lots of embroidery and a nice mix of feminine silhouettes and more masculine accents. I’ve also been into the late 80s recently – everyday looks with layered turtlenecks, pattern-mixing, and multiple necklaces and nighttime outfits with fishnets, platforms, and big hair.

What are your favorite brands?

I don’t care for brands too much but I respect a few creative directors. I love Alessandro Michele for Gucci, Miuccia Prada, and Hedi Slimane but, to be honest, I’ve only been exposed to runway since I came to NYU. Most of my clothes are things I’ve collected from vintage and thrift shops while traveling.

What are some of your staple items?

I love anything velvet and/or sparkly. I usually wear lots of layers, knee socks, and fur but, in summer, I love strappy/platform sandals and vintage dresses. The items I wear the most are my chokers, pointed-toe flats and boots, and my leather miniskirt.

Do you have any advice for those who want more than just a typical look of the day?

Draw inspiration from anywhere. People of every gender, age, and nationality have something to offer and there’s no reason to limit yourself to what’s trendy now. I actually seem to pick up the most style tips from paintings and historical photographs, I remember writing down that I had to try wearing a long black ribbon as a choker last time I visited the Frick Collection. I recommend checking out the instagrams @historyphotographed and @the_corsetedbeauty if you’re ever at a loss for what to wear.

Jonathan Lopez (Sophomore at Carnegie Mellon University)

13147887_10204531176518961_1285701954_o

What is your taste in fashion?

My taste in fashion isn’t that of a monochrome, or modern fashion. For some pieces and combinations I choose things that will be a representation of a mood, or of a desire. I love fashion that redefines, that makes you feel something that you haven’t felt before, because fashion is a representation of art and emotion.

What are your favorite brands?

My favorite brands are Acne Studios, Saint Laurent, All Saints, and APC.

What are some of your staple items?

Some of my staple items would be my own pieces that I’ve created which were made in a layering distorted grid fashion in order to represent the creeping normality of fashion.

Do you have any advice for those who want more than just a typical look of the day?

Use the famous designers as an inspiration, but in the end in order to get more than just a typical look you need to be yourself, and don’t be afraid to try something new. As you draw to convey to others what you were thinking during the drawing process, dress and design in order to do the same.

Natasha Rembach (Student at Istituto Marangoni, London)

13090116_10204531176438959_506530638_n

What is your taste in fashion?

I feel like my taste is changing every day. Can’t say I just stick to one particular style, since traveling to Denmark quite often I would say my style became more Scandinavian; the number of black pieces in my wardrobe noticeably went up. I really like what Saint Laurent does.

What are your favorite brands?

Saint Laurent, Moschino, Kenzo, Givenchy, All Saints, Samsoe Samsoe, rag+bone, acne, Maison Kitsune, Zadig+Voltaire.

What are some of your staple items?

I have a thing for ripped jeans; they look cool just with leather jacket and sneakers but you can also style them with heels and a classy top for the occasion.

Do you have any advice for those who want more than just a typical look of the day?

Just be yourself and don’t try too hard spending hours trying things on.

Adryan Son is the Deputy Social Media Editor. Email him at violetvision@nyunews.com.

Leave a Reply

